About us

Mailing Address:

El Paso Writers' League 

PO Box 13567
El Paso, TX 79913

Our Mission:

Our mission is to be a resource for writers of all skill levels within the greater El Paso area and to provide them with encouragement and a sense of community.

Monthly meetings:

Second Saturday of each month at 2 p.m.

Dorris Van Doren Library
551 East Redd Road 79912
(915) 875-0700


In 1935, Lenore Dils and five other writers, Ida Gardner, Marcie Sanguin, Rowena Bridgers, Maggie Jerrell and Etna Kline, organized the Night Writers. These women worked and the only time they had to meet was at night. Mrs. Dils had lived in El Paso two years and felt the need for the companionship and inspiration of fellow writers. She stated that next to getting published, her greatest thrill was seeing someone else get published. She enjoyed helping others to write by inspiration, by critiquing and hard work. 

             In 1941, The League published “Sponsor Magazine”. The League staged several plays written by member James Cleveland in the 1950’s. In April of 1962 the group sponsored the First Annual Southwestern  Writers’ Dinner with attendance of 240 writers. Dr. C. L. Sonnichsen was the featured speaker. For several years, the League sponsored a contest for youngsters at the fourth grade level. Currently, they offer summer workshops for young people, Junior Jotters. For many years, the group has sponsored an annual writing contest for members. 

            As the group grew, it became the El Paso Writer’s League. Past presidents include  John Wolfe, Lenore Dils, Jessie Prothro, Etna Kline, Rowena Bridges, Virgie Hequembourg, Corrie Thompson, James Cleveland, Marcia King, Mable Graves, Cline Rinehart, Rev. Charles Manker, Tulia Winton, Phyllis Mainz, Kay Deaver, Edna Stevens, Ralph Voigt, Ray Weissinger, Lois Roquemore, Ida Mae Bond, Rosemary Fryer,Betty Isabel, Shirley Fouts, Nancy Eastridge, Lyle Royce, Lela Herrera, Cara Mae Smith, Thelma Gorney, Deen Underwood, Bill Schlondrop, Patsy King, Gloria Glass, Donna Munch, Christine Susany, A. C. Sanders, Jan Brooks, and Ken Kenyon. Ida Mae Bond served for twelve years as president. 

            2010 marks the 75th anniversary of the group. The El Paso Writer’s League continues offering workshops, monthly meetings, and various events to encourage and aid writers of all ages and abilities in their quest to write.